Cover Image: Buzz Books 2020: Spring/Summer

Buzz Books 2020: Spring/Summer

Pub Date:   |   Archive Date:

Member Reviews

I have never requested a BUZZ BOOKS before. This was very helpful for me to know what is coming out and to read about books with authors that I am not familiar with. There are some good books coming out this spring!
Was this review helpful?
Buzz Books is so dangerous.  It's a gateway drug for me.  It gives great insight into the up and coming books and authors.  And my NetGaley requests are through the roof now.
Was this review helpful?
Always hepful. I can't wait to read and review SO many of these, particularly Mike Bibirbiglia's book. Looking forward to it! Thanks again for the helpful compendium.
Was this review helpful?
Brilliant as ever. Crammed full of brilliant books, decent length extracts and a good mix of genres. Would love a children's version and access to back issues!
Was this review helpful?
great preview of upcoming books. I always love using these samples to create lists of books I want to request and review for the upcoming season.
Was this review helpful?
Great collection of various authors and a range of great reading material!! 

Thank you to NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for a fair review.
Was this review helpful?
Brilliant read and so helpful for us booksellers! We have to order well in advance and sometimes without any info and this helps me decide of it's a book that will work in my market and it also gives me some info I can use to handsell the title.
Was this review helpful?
What is better than scrolling through all the wonderful possibilities of books on Netgalley? Not much. Trolling that same resource at only the click of the next page button? Yeah, that'll do it. 
This is such a great resource to excite anyone's TBR pile. In a hot minute it has brought so many new titles, as well as authors, to my attention. I really love the large cover image and the included excerpt aspect as you get to see how the narrative voice suits you - see if it grabs you out of the feast of riches available here.
Was this review helpful?
I love looking through the Buzz books and what a wonderful selection for the spring/summer.  So many that i am hoping to read.
Was this review helpful?
Thanks so much. An excellent summary of some exciting new publications. I love the fact that there is an excerpt from each book, it really helps.
Was this review helpful?
I always love looking through these catalogs and seeing what else coming for the new season. there are a lot of books that I am very excited about and I cannot wait for their release!
Was this review helpful?
Some great books for Spring/Summer 2020! I'm especially looking forward to Julie Clark's "That Last Flight" and Rosayra Pablo Cruz & Julie Schwietert Collazo's "The Book of Rosy." But so many more will be on my TBR.
Was this review helpful?
Thank you for this preview! It’s great to be able to read samples, so excited to read many of these books.
Was this review helpful?
I read this ARC for an honest review
All thoughts and opinions are mine

Oh I LOVE buzz books and devoured this in 1 sitting
Love to be able to see what up and coming and these have become a bit of a must read for me
Was this review helpful?
If your TBR lists are looking thin here are some great titles coming out Spring/Summer 2020. You're welcome!

The Last Flight by Julie Clark
(Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark; Release date: June 2, 2020)

The Book of Longings by Sue Monk Kidd
(Publisher: Viking Books; Release date: April 21, 2020)

Chosen Ones by Veronica Roth
(Publisher: John Joseph Adams Books; Release date: April 7, 2020)

The Party Upstairs by Lee Conell
(Publisher: Penguin Press; Release date: July 7, 2020)

The Boys' Club by Erica Katz
(Publisher: Harper; Release date: August 4, 2020)

True Story by Kate Reed Petty
(Publisher: Viking Books; Release date: August 4, 2020)

The Burning by Laura Bates
(Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire; Release date: April 7, 2020)
Was this review helpful?
Why have I not seen this before? (or how did I miss it??)

Great way to look at S/S books - I cannot wait to read some of them and request some of them ... although some of them I have been denied already.  FLOL
Was this review helpful?
I  will search and read some of the books you published (I  hope to  see them  soon  at  Netgalley).
Was this review helpful?
I’m always excited to read these because it gives me a chance to see what new titles might not be on my radar.
Was this review helpful?
It isn’t often I sign up to read something that isn’t a full length novel. This is one of the notable exceptions. I discovered a BookBuzz review of upcoming books a year ago and after reading it was determined to watch for them on a regular basis. Unfortunately, I missed the next one, so  as soon as I saw this one on NetGalley I downloaded it, put aside what I was reading, and starting reading. It’s a great way to discover new to me authors as well as give me an opportunity to read through some excerpts to help determine if there are books I would like to watch for in the coming season.
After reading through this selection, I wound up automatically asking for two books, then going back to request a third. One of the interesting things for me was in discovering which samples struck a chord with me and which ones kept reverberating in my head once I had finished them. It’s always interesting to me to discover books, or portions of them, that keep calling my mind back to the story, making me wonder what will happen next or how this one might end.
If you are looking to explore new books for yourself or if you are in the business of selecting books to add to a library or bookstore, etc. this might be an effective tool for you. The book itself is divided into some large categories which make it easier to move to particular types of books which may be of interest to you. The categories are widely diverse and range from Young Adult Fiction to Debut Authors.
If you are wanting to explore new opportunities in reading, this is an excellent place to start. My thanks to Publishers Lunch and NetGalley for providing me with an advanced digital read copy in exchange for an unbiased review.
Was this review helpful?
This Is A Good One

I've been downloading these preview collections for quite a few years now, and the quality, breadth, and appeal of the samples have varied considerably from edition to edition. I almost didn't bother this time around, but I'm glad I relented. This set of samples really is quite exciting and varied.

The book opens with a very thorough and well curated list of notable and anticipated books that will come up on offer all year. Just for the purpose of alerting oneself to what's on the horizon this book is worth looking at.

But the heart of the project is the forty-four extended excerpts; each comes with an introduction, some blurbs, marketing plans, and publication notes. Most, if not all, of the featured books are available for download, or at least request, on NetGalley. That aside, at a minimum the excerpts are usually longer than the samples you can download from Amazon, and for lots of the books the Amazon sample downloads aren't yet available and won't be available until we get closer to publication dates. As a consequence, this ends up being an excellent sneak preview resource.

I won't go through the books I was intrigued by, since everyone's tastes in that regard will differ. It is worth noting, though, that there were several books I highlighted to request or otherwise secure that I probably would have ignored but for having an excerpt sitting right in front of me inviting me to read on. I usually just gloss over "Women's Fiction", which is sad and unfair when you think about it, given that "Women's Fiction" isn't even an identifiable genre and certainly doesn't deserve any negative connotation. But there it is, and darned if I didn't get into several of those books based on these samples. 

So, this is a wide ranging collection with excellent samples, and an easy way to explore outside your usual comfort zone.  A nice find this year.
Was this review helpful?