Who is Maud Dixon?

A Novel

This title was previously available on NetGalley and is now archived.

Buy this Book on

You must sign in to see if this title is available for request.
Pub Date 02 Mar 2021 | Archive Date 02 May 2021

Talking about this book? Use #WhoisMaudDixon #NetGalley. More hashtag tips!


Description

A "stylish and sharp" character-driven suspense novel, "with wicked hairpin turns," about a famous novelist and a small-town striver locked in a struggle for fortune and fame. (Maria Semple, author of Where’d You Go, Bernadette?)

Florence Darrow is a low-level publishing employee who believes that she's destined to be a famous writer. When she stumbles into a job the assistant to the brilliant, enigmatic novelist known as Maud Dixon — whose true identity is a secret — it appears that the universe is finally providing Florence’s big chance.
 
The arrangement seems perfect. Maud Dixon (whose real name, Florence discovers, is Helen Wilcox) can be prickly, but she is full of pointed wisdom -- not only on how to write, but also on how to live. Florence quickly falls under Helen’s spell and eagerly accompanies her to Morocco, where Helen’s new novel is set. Amidst the colorful streets of Marrakesh and the wind-swept beaches of the coast, Florence’s life at last feels interesting enough to inspire a novel of her own.
 
But when Florence wakes up in the hospital after a terrible car accident, with no memory of the previous night — and no sign of Helen — she’s tempted to take a shortcut. Instead of hiding in Helen’s shadow, why not upgrade into Helen's life? Not to mention her bestselling pseudonym . . .
 
Taut, twisty, and viciously entertaining, Who is Maud Dixon is a stylish psychological thriller about how far into the darkness you’re willing to go to claim the life you always wanted.

One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021
GoodReads * LitHub * CrimeReads * Town & Country * New York Post * Wall Street Journal
A "stylish and sharp" character-driven suspense novel, "with wicked hairpin turns," about a famous novelist and a small-town striver locked in a struggle for fortune and fame. (Maria Semple, author...

Advance Praise

“Who Is Maud Dixon? combines a rapid-fire plot with larger questions of authenticity and authorship, creating an edgy and distinct work that is as compelling as the mysterious figure at its center.” —Vogue

"The debut novel everyone will be talking about this spring is a twisty, spicy tête-à-tête that pits two very determined women against each other — but in a good way." —Entertainment Weekly

Who Is Maud Dixon? has enough twists and turns (really good ones!) to make you dizzy for a week. Dizzy with joy! By the end of the book you’ll start wondering if author Alexandra Andrews might be a murderer herself.” —James Patterson

"Stylish and sharp, with wicked hairpin turns, Who Is Maud Dixon? is part Patricia Highsmith, part All About Eve and pure fun.” —Maria Semple, author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

“Smoothly written, nimbly plotted—yet also buzzing with an irresistible intensity and relish. Roaring round of applause here.” —AJ Finn, author of The Woman in the Window

“Who Is Maud Dixon? combines a rapid-fire plot with larger questions of authenticity and authorship, creating an edgy and distinct work that is as compelling as the mysterious figure at its center.” —...


Available Editions

EDITION Other Format
ISBN 9780316500319
PRICE $28.00 (USD)

Available on NetGalley

NetGalley Shelf App (EPUB)
Send To Kindle (MOBI)
Download (EPUB)

Average rating from 144 members


Featured Reviews

This is a really great novel. There are twists and turns and levels of unpredictable events that kept me glued until I finished it. Elaborate plots within plots and unexpected devious actions fill this book. I complain that too many mysteries are predictable, not this one! Florence gets a fabulous job offer from the reclusive and unknown author, Maud Dixon. The old adage, too good to be true comes to mind as this intricate plot unfolds. Who is the villain? Who is the victim? What is justifiable revenge? I’m thinking about this, after this ultra-engaging read. I highly recommend this to readers who want a well written and utterly engaging novel. Thank you Netgalley for this absolutely captivating read.

Was this review helpful?

I was drawn to read Who is Maud Dixon? by Alexandra Andrews because of the description: a wanna-be author gets a job as assistant to a successful but reclusive author who writes under the pseudonym of Maud Dixon. Fast forward to Monaco a few months later when Florence, our assistant, wakes up in a hospital with no memory of the previous night. The police and hospital staff are calling her "Helen" aka Maud Dixon, and Florence begins to think, "Why not?" And that is only the beginning of the twists in this psychological thriller. I loved this book. The twists and turns kept my interest, the characters were flawed but compelling, and the plot was deliciously clever. Readers who enjoy a twisty thriller as well as anyone who has ever wanted to be in someone else's shoes will love this. Thank you to Little, Brown and Company as well as NetGalley for an e-arc in exchange for my honest review.

Was this review helpful?

Thank you to NetGalley for an ARC of Who is Maud Dixon? I love these kinds of books; a reclusive author with secrets, a naive young woman (or man) who is hired to help the author and drama ensues. When Florence Darrow loses her job after doing one of the stupidest things ever, she is hired by the agent of a famous, reclusive author as an assistant. Florence is immediately entranced by the author, her real name Helen Wilcox, and seeks to emulate her in all the ways she can; image, personality, attitude. But, when a tragic accident during a work trip ends up with Florence injured and her employer nowhere to be found, she discovers this may be a blessing in disguise. From nearly the get-go, I guessed a lot of the 'twists' perhaps because I've read books with similar premises or I just have a devious mind. More of the latter, a bit of the former. Florence was a tough person to like so I didn't. I get she's only 26 and grew up with a single parent in a hardscrabble environment but she was shallow, snotty and lacked personality. She was starved for attention and to be noticed, yet had no identity of her own. She was not very smart, interesting or amusing. She was a one-note character. Sometimes, I was struck by how silly or unimaginative Florence was but again, she's young, so I let it go. I did like that the conflict was between two women, without a man involved. It made for a stronger story, but there was some hard to believe moments yet I allowed my belief suspension meter to reach its pinnacle without falling off entirely to see how the story would reach its conclusion. I think some readers would really enjoy this, especially if disbelief suspension is easy for them. I would read the author's next book.

Was this review helpful?

I thought I had this book figured out, but boy was I wrong. Florence was a sociopath and Helen was a bitchy one-hit wonder. They were perfect for each other. And, when you don’t identify with either character (they’re both complete and utter asshats), it makes it fun to watch them self-destruct. I really enjoyed this story and want to see what the author comes up with next!

Was this review helpful?

This was a very entertaining book, with clever plot twists that resolve in a smart, satisfying way. Even though the main character, Florence, wasn’t completely likable, she was believably drawn and it was possible to understand the choices she made. I will be on the lookout for the author’s next book! Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing this ARC for review.

Was this review helpful?

This is one off the rails entertaining read! Florence knows she’s meant to be an author, it is her dream. She gets the chance to be an assistant to an anonymous best selling author and when her boss is presumed dead after a car accident, Florence thinks this may be her chance to shine. However, Florence has no idea just who her boss really is. Be careful what you wish for.

Was this review helpful?

I read this book is one sitting because I could not put it down. Florence is a down on her luck aspiring writer who is working in a low-level position at a New York publisher. Her gaffes are mounting, including having an affair with a higher up that buys her nothing but a restraining order. But then a dream job lands in her lap – to be the assistant to the elusive and successful Maude Dixon, a very famous writer who uses “Maude” as her pen name. Florence jumps at the chance to disappear into Maude’s world and learn from a literary hero. It turns out, “Maude” doesn’t only write suspense novels, she’s living one and drags Florence along with her for the ride. This book was such a fun journey, taking the reader all the way to Morocco. It’s a dark comedy whose twists and turns mimic the roads in Morocco. A wild ride about writers, mystery, travel, suspense and what it means to start over. Thank you to Little, Brown and Company for the advanced review copy of this book.

Was this review helpful?

"Bene visit, bene qui latti." He lives well who is well hidden. Maud grabbed me from the beginning, and wouldn't let go. What a terrific read, one of the best, for me, this year. Florence, our main girl, isn't very likable, but she is relatable. Insecure, needy and hungry, she meets her match in Helen, a novelist who hires her as an assistant. As their story plays out in Morocco, it's hard to say who is more despicable, who will go furthest to achieve her ends. Interspersed with dark humor and lots of whiskey, red lipstick and cigarettes, take notice when Helen teaches Florence how to make coq a vin. "She peered into her dish...and notice several mushrooms she'd bled all over bobbing on the surface..." P.S. thanks to #netgalley for the advance copy. #mauddixon

Was this review helpful?

This book is bananas. I loved it. Who is Maud Dixon? is everything you want in a page-turner: smart, inventive and chock full of twists and turns. Alexandra Andrews's debut novel will undoubtedly spawn copy cats because it's the real deal with real character development, exotic settings and some totally believable relationships. Not one false story beat. It's also a book about books and writing and storytelling, so a winning combination for me. Well done. Loved it.

Was this review helpful?

I loved this book. An incredible psychological thriller that will literally keep you going to the last page. This is one of my favorite books of the year. Original plot line great characterization, it has it all! I highly recommend it

Was this review helpful?

Wow, oh wow!!! I didn't quite know what to expect when I started reading this novel, but it quickly had me on the edge of my seat. Twists and turns every step of the way. Florence has dreams of another life, and when the opportunity presents itself to assume a totally different identity, she takes it....but to what consequence? I highly recommend this excellent work of fiction. It'll keep you turning the pages well into the night!

Was this review helpful?

A twisty and hard to guess suspense filled mystery. I loved this one! You will enjoy the twists and turns all the way through. I read it one day!

Was this review helpful?

Thank you Netgalley for this ARC of Who is Maud Dixon by Alexandra Andrews. Florence Darrow is from a small town, and desperate for more. She believes that she has what it takes to be a big author but everything seems to keep holding her back, including people that only want the best for her. After a mishap that gets her fired from her job, she gets a call from the assistant of the mysterious and best selling author Maud Dixon. Florence has been vetted to be the assistant of the reclusive writer. Enthusiastic, Florence cuts all ties with her previous life, and goes to start her new one, hoping to find inspiration for her own writing career. But working for Maud Dixon isn't all it's cracked up to be. She's off putting, secretive, and sporadic. She isn't doing the work that Florence is there to assist her in, and Florence is running a lot of interference between Maud and the people who are making money from her. But all of that changes when Maud suggests a trip abroad to gain inspiration for her next novel... This strangely reminded me of the Anna Delvey scam a few years ago, except a bit more sinister. Very few of the characters in this book are likable, but that's what makes it fun and satisfying. It goes in strange directions, and changed flavors a few times, but I was stoked about the ride the whole time. Very fun book.

Was this review helpful?

This is a smart, innovative and page turning read. ‘Wanna be’ writer (Florence) lands a job as an assistant to the reclusive, pseudonym named author ‘Maud Dixon’ (Helen). This is an opportunity that Florence could never have dreamed of. Florence is invited to travel with Helen to Morocco on a research trip for her next novel. Here, Andrews beautiful prose describe the sights and sounds of Morocco and the words jump off the page. When Florence wakes up in a hospital after a automobile accident and Helen is dead, with the hospital staff and care givers referring to her as Helen, Florence wonders if this is her moment, her opportunity to become ‘Maud Dixon’. With twists and turns and plots within plots this is a most exciting read. My thanks to Net Galley and Little, Brown and Company for an ARC in exchange for an hones book review.

Was this review helpful?

As someone studying Publishing and looking to get into the industry once I graduate, I found this insight into the publishing world fascinating. The way Morocco was described was so accurate, and I couldn't put the book down during the plot twist at the end! Overall it was an exciting read.

Was this review helpful?

This a debut novel and I was really impressed!!!! The premise was great, the characters were well developed and the description of Morocco was transporting! The novel flowed beautifully and I turned the pages rapidly to see what would happen next! I would call this a suspenseful novel with a thrilling ending! I am always drawn to books about writing and the publishing industry, so that was the main reason I chose this book. We first meet our main protagonist, Florence Darrow, who is living in New York working at a publishing house as an assistant editor. She is a want-to-be writer who hails from a small town in Florida. She thought if she got to New York possibilities would unfurl, but nothing much exciting has happened YET!! Unexpectedly she is called to meet a famous author, Helen, who is looking for an assistant. She writes under a pseudonym because she likes her privacy. Florence immediately takes to the job and she and Helen seem to hit it off. She also loves this remote house and the beautiful setting. Helen wants Florence to accompany her on a trip to Morocco while she does research on her new novel. Of course Florence jumps at the chance. What transpires in a small town in Morocco is a story within a larger story. While Florence relishes the new atmosphere and even makes friends, Helen is often gone for long periods of time. They are staying in an old home that has its charms and there is a cook/maid who takes care of the cooking and cleaning. Florence is enjoying her stay until . . . . . . .the unimaginable happens!! We next find Florence in the hospital, recovering from an automobile accident. She has no memory of what happened.All she can recall is “Everything got quieter. As if underwater. Sounds were swallowed up by the water. She felt lulled by a swift current, swept away by the waves, pulled back by strong hands . . . .” The plot just gets more and more twisted until we don’t know who the villain is or if there is a hero in this complex story. To tell you any more of the plot would spoil the read. This was going to be a solid 4 read until the ending which was complicated and explosive enough to push this up to a 5*. I thoroughly enjoyed this quick moving novel with a WOW ending. I will certainly watch for the next book from this talented new author!! I received an ARC of this novel from the publisher through NetGalley This novel is set to publish on March 2, 2021 Will post to amazon upon publication (Note I am Dorie 4 on BarnesandNoble)

Was this review helpful?

Who is Maud Dixon? is a debut novel by Alexandra Andrews. I don't think I've read anything quite like it and I find that very refreshing. At the beginning of this book you meet Florence Darrow. Florence lives in New York City and works in the publishing industry. She is trying to make a name for herself but is going about it in all the wrong ways. She is soon fired from her job. No worries, she is soon presented with the opportunity to become the assistant for a writer who writes under the pseudonym of Maud Dixon. People have been wondering who Maud Dixon really is for years. Florence moves from the the city to the "sticks.." She finds it strange that a successful author is living such a reclusive life but Florence finds it somewhat refreshing. Soon, Florence and her boss travel to Morocco to do research for an upcoming novel. But what soon transpires is not what Florence had expected. There will be twists and turns throughout this trip. There will be secrets revealed. . There will be murder. How does this all play out? Does the book get finished? And who exactly is Maud Dixon? The answer may surprise you!!!!! I would recommend this book for anyone who likes suspense! This one releases on March 2, 2021

Was this review helpful?

I really enjoyed this debut novel. I love books about writers and publishing and this story about Florence and her journey to Morocco and what transpires is SO deliciously twisted! It kept me very entertained and was very unpredictable! Highly recommend! My thanks to the author, publisher and Net Galley for the ARC!

Was this review helpful?

Florence is a frustrated publishing assistant who starts to go off the rails when one of her fellow assistants gets her work published before Florence. After getting fired for a stalking incident, she randomly lands a job as assistant for the latest literary sensation, Maud Dixon, a pen name for an anonymous, sassy woman named Helen Wilcox, who lives in the country in upstate New York. When Helen is killed in a freak accident, Florence thinks no one will be the wiser if she just becomes Maud Dixon. But Florence may have bitten off more than she can chew, as Helen's publisher wants her next book, like, last week. I found this book to be absolutely hilarious. The tone reminded me of the movie Death Becomes Her. I don't think too many readers will like Helen or Florence, but the way their personalities play off each other is great because they are both weirdos. I was cracking up when a lawyer told Florence a jury wouldn't find her sympathetic, and when she stole Helen's phrases and tried to casually use them. A very refreshing and unique entry into the thriller genre!

Was this review helpful?

This book was so good! This book is a literary thriller, both the plot (publishing industry) and writing style (thank you Alexandra Andrews for your vocabulary). Florence starts working as an assistant for bestselling but anonymous writer Helen (pen name Maud Dixon) under a strict NDA. Florence and Helen fly to Morocco, get in a car wreck, and then everything goes sideways. The synopsis calls Florence a "striver" - perfect description of her character. She's not exactly likable but she is compelling. And it's so nice to read a smart thriller! Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for the opportunity to read and review.

Was this review helpful?

I was on pins and needles reading this. Will she or won’t she. Oh, she did. Maybe that was a bad idea. Nope, go for it. It was a battle. Loved it so much. Can’t wait for the movie!

Was this review helpful?

What a fun topsy turvy ride of a thriller. Completely innovative and compelling. Florence, who works in publishing gets the chance of a lifetime to work for the elusive and secretive author of Maud Dixon and from there an intricate web of deceit and death ensues. A five star read!

Was this review helpful?

This 5 star read is a modern thriller tale about making one's way in the world of writing and book publishing, but it has as many twists and turns as a novel by Charles Dickens For those who love unique contemporary stories, WHO IS MAUD DIXON definitely fits the bill. The added bonus is that the plot revolves around an author, a wanna-be author, and the publishing industry. However, that makes this story sound boring, something it most definitely is not. When the story begins with 26-year-old Florence and her wallflower friend Lucy working as new editorial assistants at Forrester Books, readers are drawn in by what seems like the start of an improbably successful life for Florence; her background in an economically-challenged home run by her uneducated, single mother makes her feel insecure and defensive. Even after-work happy hour gatherings with other young adults at their same company leave Florence feeling like she's an outsider looking in, and that is the weak link in her life that sets her up for the point at which "two roads diverged in a wood." Unfortunately, Florence takes the path led by flirtations with a man, who also happens to be married and also happens to be her boss, the editorial director at Forrester Books. Although she regrets her actions when she wakes up alone in the hotel room the next morning, she does not have enough regret to change her ways. She tries to focus on her job and all the office chit-chat about a best selling novel published under the pseudonym of Maud Dixon. Instead, Florence decides to try and blackmail her way to being a published author. The swift retaliation within Florence's publishing house leaves her at the depths of despair one minute and at the height of exhilaration days later. Readers will be turning the pages as fast as they can while mentally shouting warnings to Florence that there are just too many coincidences for this to be a lucky break. This novel by Alexandra Andrews is sure to receive as many kudos as the fictional Maud Dixon novel.

Was this review helpful?

A devilishly fun thriller that perfectly threads the needle between Patricia Highsmith and Gillian Flynn. There is real humanity to these characters, even as they descend further and further into an amoral morass. Alexandra Andrews absolutely kills it with novel #1.

Was this review helpful?

I went into this book completely in the dark, I had no idea what I was reading though I read somewhere that this was going to be a well-talked about book. Since I love discovering new authors and titles, I requested this book on netgalley and I am so glad I did. As I was reading, I thought of a dozen different directions this story could be going in but I was totally thrown for a loop halfway through the book and was hooked. The thrill and uncertainty of what was going to happen next had me going until the last page. This is a book I will be recommending others to read.

Was this review helpful?

This story was a compelling literary thriller. The main character comes from Florida to New York to work at a publishing house. Through some unexpected developments, she ends up the assistant to a reclusive best selling author. At first, the main character views her new boss as a mentor and someone to emulate but she soon realizes there is more than meets the eye. I won't share too much more so as not to give away the story, but suffice it to say this is one that will keep you guessing up to the end. Recommended.

Was this review helpful?

This was a fantastic debut novel! The main character Florence, has been fired from her editorial job and ends up becoming assistant to the reclusive and anonymous famous writer Maud Dixon. Maud invites Florence to Morocco to do research for her upcoming book and they end up in a car accident. Florence wakes up to Maud presumed dead and decides to take over her identity. The book reminded me of Talented Mr. Ripley with the play on identity as well as the descriptive setting of Morocco. It had some twists and turns and was overall very intriguing and readable!

Was this review helpful?

This is a debut??? Um, okay. I sense a bestseller here. I truly couldn’t put this book down, so it was a 24 hour read for me. This is the second book to blow me away in 2021, and it’s only February! Florence Darrow believes that she's destined to be a famous writer, so when she stumbles into a job assisting the brilliant novelist known as Maud Dixon — whose true identity is a secret — it appears the universe is finally providing Florence her big chance. But when Florence wakes up in the hospital after the two of them are in a terrible car accident, with no memory of the previous night — and no sign of Maud Dixon — she’s tempted to upgrade into a bestselling life. --- THIS is exactly what I want in a psychological thriller. The work of Patricia Highsmith came to mind as I was reading it, because Florence Darrow is the type of dysfunctional and unsettling main character Highsmith might create. In fact, the book has some serious notes of The Talented Mr. Ripley. Florence is a bit of a black hole inside, unsure of who she is and what she wants, painfully neurotic when it comes to how she is perceived. She becomes obsessed with the identities of others, and she inserts herself into their lives, compelled to adopt their way of thinking, dressing and behaving. She isn’t just unreliable. She is CREEPY. I was often frustrated with her for making poor decisions and engaging in self-destructive behavior, yet she was likable enough that I wanted her to make the right choices -- or at least the smart choices -- and succeed. I’ll also mention that the portion set in Morocco really allows the culture and country to come alive on the page, which is fun. But more importantly, my thriller-loving friends, the twists and turns throughout are many, and each one is unexpected and oh so satisfying. The plotting, pacing and reveals are done exceptionally well and are downright Hitchcockian. And I LOVED the ending. Honestly, just get this book and read it, okay? It is just such a fun and twisty roller coaster of a read! Thank you NetGalley and Little, Brown and Company for the ARC!

Was this review helpful?

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Who Is Maud Dixon - Alexandra Andrews (Oht March 2, 2021) Thank you so much to @hbgcanada for the gifted copy in exchange of an honest review! 🔍🔍🔍 Florence Darrow has always felt like she lives a meager life, and when she gets fired from her editorial job, it’s looking like she may have hit the ultimate rock bottom. She believes all that is about to change when she gets to opportunity to be the assistant of the literary sensation, Maud Dixon, a pseudonym for an author who’s identity is the ultimately mystery in the literary world. 🔍🔍🔍 Who Is Maud Dixon? had me hooked from the start! An author with a secret identity who wrote about a murder that may or may not be nonfiction?! YES PLEASE! The story is character driven and both Florence and Helen are terrible and wonderful and slightly twisted characters. I had so much fun getting to know them both! While I did find parts of the story a little slow, I loved how everything tied together at the end and had a hard time putting this one down (I read it in two sittings, WHOOPS!). 🔍🔍🔍 This book had moments that reminded me of The Safe Place, Where’d You Go Bernadette and Verity. It could definitely make a super fun drama/comedy/action film! Overall, Who Is Maud Dixon? was just such a fun read! This was Alexandra Andrews debut novel and I will definitely be looking out for her future books! 🔍🔍🔍 #avidreader #bookstagrammer #whoismauddixon #debutbook #whattoreadnext #hbgcanada #newbookalert #bookish #bookblogger #bookreview #readersofig #igreads #newbook #newrelease #booksta #bookstagram #booknerd

Was this review helpful?

Who Is Maud Dixon By Alexandra Andrews Pub date: March 2, 2021 Maud Dixon is a suspense novel that offers comedic moments, drama reminiscent of Melrose Place and Dallas (shout out to my 40+ booksta peeps). Its a Thrilramacom! It actually blows my mind that this is a debut! Who is Maud Dixon is a twisty tale of an author who writes under a pen name and the story that lies behind the anonymity and fills the spaces between the lines! Unreliable narratives from flawed characters where desperation is a palpable pheromone and deception an appetite. Sure, there are parts of the storyline that would likely not hold up under scrutiny but - whatever! It was fun & Quick - I read it in less than a day! It held my interest and kept me turning the pages. And, as I was in a bit of a slump, Maud Dixon was exactly what I needed in a read! I totally recommend reading this engaging cat and mouse read when you have a day to indulge with Maud! My thanks to Hachette Book Group Canada, Little Brown Company and NetGalley for my advanced copy.

Was this review helpful?

Florence Darrow is a want-to-be an author, she is currently living in NYC working as assistant editor. She thought by moving to New York, she would have far more opportunities than she had in her small town in Florida. She is super excited when Florence a well-known author calls her in need of an assistant. She and Florence hit it off and is excited when invited to go along to Morocco to do research. The book endorsement states that this is for readers of “The Silent Patient”. I am not a fan of when books are compared to best sellers but “The Silent Patient” did have a big twist at the end so figured surely this will have some sort of a twist…. Right? Story got my attention then it slowed down. I hung in there as I was sure there was going to be a big twist!!!! Aww YES! It did DELIVER!! This is Alexandra Andrews’s debut novel. I certainly am looking forward to her next story! Want to thank NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for this eGalley. This file has been made available to me before publication in an early form for professional review purposes only. Publishing Release Date scheduled for May 4, 2021

Was this review helpful?

I was obsessed with this book. It shared a lot of DNA with other thrillers I love, but it felt earned and it built slowly. I wasn't sure where things were going to go - who was going to die, who was going to win - and it blew all of my theories out of the water. Just when I thought all of the ends were wrapped up, there was another chapter to tie it up even tighter.

Was this review helpful?

This is a such a good book and its quite incredible that it is Alexandra Andrews’ debut. Comparisons to “The Talented Mr. Ripley” are inevitable but this book stands on its own. It’s clever and witty as it explores the publishing business. The twists in this enjoyable psychological thriller will keep you glued and guessing. Does the story go a little off the rails? Sure, but there’s enough of a sense of satire that it all works beautifully. Enjoy it.

Was this review helpful?

I was going to rate this 4.5 but the ending clearly made this debut novel a 5 star read. The author pulls you slowly into the story of Florence who is not very likeable at all but is smarter than most people think. I was nonchalantly reading and taking the story for granted and then the plot thickens and I was oh so wrong. After Florence lands a job as an assistant to Maud Dixon a pen name of a successful author. Maud is an reclusive somewhat eccentric loner with secrets of her own and you just know this is not going to end well There are twists and turns, red herrings and I wasn't sure who to cheer on. I wont say anymore except buckle up its a roller coaster of a read and you wont regret putting Who is Maud Dixon to to the top or you TBR pile. Thanks to NetGalley , Little Brown and Company for one of my favourite reads of 2021.

Was this review helpful?

Who Is Maud Dixon? by Alexandra Andrews is a twisty thriller that certainly kept me guessing! Florence Darrow has big dreams to become a famous writer. She's asked to become assistant to "Maud Dixon," a famous but anonymous writer; and she jumps at the opportunity. "Maud" (real name Helen) and Florence travel to Morocco to do some research, but they are involved in a car accident. Florence wakes up at the hospital, remembering nothing of the accident, and is told that Helen is dead; so Florence decides to become "Maud Dixon." But, that's not going to happen very easily for her... I highly recommend this book! Thanks to NetGalley for the free digital review copy. All opinions are my own.

Was this review helpful?

A delightful romp through the cut-throat world of editorial assistants. Florence Darrow is an editorial assistant at a middle tier publishing house and she feels destined for greatness. When she finds herself suddenly u8nemployed, she is hired as an assistant to a very secretive hot new author. No one knows who Maud Dixon is, though many have tried to figure it out. A very fun read! A little bit mystery, A little bit family drama, a little bit travel adventure. I can't wait for more from Alexandra Andrews.

Was this review helpful?

Wow this is a refreshing psychological thriller and I love it! We quickly meet Florence Darrow, from Port Orange, Florida, an editorial assistant at Forrester Books in NYC. She believes she’s destined to be a celebrated writer and it may just happen! Helen Wilcox wrote Mississippi Foxtrot under the name Maud Dixon, selling three million copies. She’s in the midst of writing her second book and handpicks Florence to be her assistant. They soon travel to Morocco where things begin to shake up and boom! So many twists and turns, it’s intense and suspense, a complete page turner! Thank you to NetGalley, Little, Brown Company, and the author for a gifted copy. This is my honest review.

Was this review helpful?

There is something so original and compelling about this book. I love the style and the characters are immensely well written. There is a unique blend of genres in this book and the way that the story is timed and plotted is adeptly mind boggling. I will be recommending this book to others and want to read more from this author in the future. Thanks for the ARC, NetGalley.

Was this review helpful?

The words you speak become the house you live in. And words are at the core of Who Is Maud Dixon?. Words tossed about, words spoken in secrecy, and words sprawling upon the pages of a best selling novel. Alexandra Andrews gifts us with the character of Florence Darrow. Florence hails from Gainesville, Florida and wears it like a second skin. Even at twenty-six, she is nothing but naive with hardly a drop of any experiential background to speak of. Her mother, Vera, constantly checks in on her only child much to Florence's frustration. Florence is the poster child for common sense not being very common. Florence finally makes a break for it and lands in Manhattan. She's become an editorial assistant for Forrester Books. "Assistant" in the publishing world often entails runs for coffee and delivering copies to the right people. But our girl finally gets an unexpected opportunity when a position opens up to work with best-seller author, Maud Dixon. Maud Dixon is her pen name and she keeps her real identity locked up tight. Maud meets Florence at a train station outside Cairo, New York. Florence has been sworn to secrecy and no one must know her location......not even her pesty momma. Maud and Florence arrive at a quaint stone house with a guesthouse in the rear. Maud reveals her real name is Helen Wilcox. Soon she and Florence are bonding with Florence doing clerical work for her. But someone in the publishing world presses Florence for info on Maud's new book. Will she take the bait? Out of the blue, Maud/Helen proposes that she and Florence must take an unplanned trip to Morocco for research on her new book. Within days the two find themselves transported to the winding streets of Marrakech and Semat. Florence from Florida is leading a whirlwind life. But things are happening too quickly for Florence. She's trying to get a handle on who Maud/Helen really is. And just as we are trying to figure out the same thing, there's a terrible accident. Florence wakes up in a hospital room and the doctors and staff are calling her Miss Wilcox. What in the world happened to Maud/Helen? And crafty little thoughts enter into Florence's traumatized mind. Can she pull off stepping into the role of the anonymous Maud/Helen? This wonky girl from Florida has taken on a monstrous Manhattan persona. Can she pull it off? Alexandra Andrews must have dined on donuts with devious frosting while she wrote this one. It's lined with people behaving badly. And badly keeps this storyline rolling in hazardous ways until the very end. Andrews elbows her way into the minds of her readers with nonstop sharp-pointed situations. I'll leave it there, dear readers. Mustn't give away too much here with too many words. You'll be remembering this one for quite some time........ I received a copy of this book through NetGalley for an honest review.My thanks to Little, Brown and Company and to Alexandra Andrews for the opportunity.

Was this review helpful?

Who is Maud Dixon? Someone I don't really want to know. On one hand, we have Florence Darrow. She wants to get out of her mundane life and jumps at the chance to be assistant to the famous yet mysterious author Maud Dixon. On the other hand, we have Helen Wilcox, Maud Dixon herself. Both are completely self-absorbed people. Both are very unlikeable. They both have their own agendas and only one can come out on top. I can't say that I liked either character very much but that only added to the storyline. The mystery of what happens to each woman really keeps you turning the pages. I could also see this continuing on with a long line of Maud Dixons. Thanks to Netgalley and Little, Brown and Company for an advance copy of this book.

Was this review helpful?

This book was amazing! The writing was clear and fluid and the author’s descriptions of Morocco made it come alive. The first half of the book was fairly straightforward and was a wonderful build up to the switch you knew was coming. Then, the twists started and, once they did, they kept coming at a furious pace. It was great! I could not put the book down. But, it was the characters of Florence and Helen, who were both so flawed and intriguing, that really made the story so successful for me. My copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. My thanks to the the author, the publisher, and NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review it.

Was this review helpful?

Who is Maud Dixon anyway? When Florence is seemingly chosen from thin air to be assistant to Maud Dixon, aka Helen Wilcox, she is on top of the world, following what might have been her biggest career blunder ever...an affair with the boss. Florence and Helen jet off to Morocco to research her next great book, a tragic accident changes the entire trip...for better or for worse. Maud Dixon is an excellent read, full of twists and turns!

Was this review helpful?

What a great read! Hard to believe this is the author's first book. Who is Maud Dixon? reminded me of reading Patricia Highsmith. The novel starts out with Florence Darrow, a low level employee at a Manhattan publishing firm, getting the opportunity to work with the famous author, Maud Dixon. Maud Dixon, of course, is a pseudonym, for Helen Wilcox. Helen (Maud) and Florence travel to Morocco to do research for Helen's next novel. One day, Florence wakes up in a hospital not really being able to remember what happened. The staff believe that Florence is Helen. So what happened to Helen? Florence has always thought of herself as a writer so she becomes Helen and Maud. The second half of the book moves quickly giving the reader a thrill ride. I could not put it down. Thank you to NetGalley for an advanced copy of this book. The review is my own.

Was this review helpful?

Alexandra Andrews’ debut novel, Who is Maud Dixon?, is one of those novels that is almost impossible to discuss without spoilers, as readers will discover if/as they read other reviews. This review will attempt to give you a flavor of this book without spoiling it. Fortunately, Who is Maud Dixon? is also a book that can be read in one or two sittings, so it will not be long before readers are in on the action and understand why this debut has the buzz that it does. Florence Darrow works as an underling at a publishing house, but she has dreams – or delusions – of grandeur, wanting to quickly climb the ladder and establish herself as a famous author. She longs for this so badly that her poor decision-making might just cost her everything. That is until she happens into the job of a lifetime – working as the assistant to Maud Dixon. Maud made a splash with her debut novel and has built up a legendary façade that has the literary world salivating. Most everyone knows Maud Dixon is a pseudonym, but no one know the author’s true identity…until now. Jumping at the chance to work beside a legend, Florence finds working with “Maud” to be inspiring, exhausting, and everything in between. When she is invited to accompany the author on a trip to Morocco to research the second novel Maud Dixon is very late in delivering, Florence is beyond thrilled. Little does she know that this decision will change the course of her life. The more Florence discovers about this mysterious new work of Maud Dixon’s, the more she begins to see that it may very well be a Roman à clef. And that is only the beginning of the secrets. Readers familiar with the behind the scenes publishing milieu will recognize many archetypes from that industry. It is always fun to see a novel about books, publishing, authors, and the act of creation; it is like a glimpse at how the sausage gets made. And Alexandra Andrews presents us with an example readers might wish they never knew. That is how authentic and real this plotline feels. Once begun, there is no way to stop following this twisted journey to its natural conclusion. Who is Maud Dixon? is a fast-paced novel, with each choice Florence makes leading the reader down a forgone path that can only end in ruin. Right? This reads like a book written by a veteran author, skilled at manipulating readers (and characters) in only the best possible sense of that word. From the opening preface, Alexandra hints at what is to come, which lulls readers into a sense of control they really do not possess, allowing her to pull the rug out from under them when it is least expected. Who is Maud Dixon? will find many fans for Alexandra Andrews, all of whom will be waiting anxiously to see what she delivers next.

Was this review helpful?

Who is Maud Dixon? had me hooked from the start! I loved the combo of mystery, cons, conniving characters & dark comedy. Florence Darrow lives a boring life and hits rock bottom when she’s fired from her editorial job. But the opportunity of a lifetime presents itself when she’s approached to be the assistant of literary sensation and recluse, Maud Dixon: real name Helen. This is a character-driven story with some great locations and scenarios woven throughout the book. The second half of the book is the strongest and really pulls you into the story. I can see this making a great movie or miniseries ! Great debut and look forward to reading more from Alexandra Andrews. Thank you to netgalley and @hbgcanada & @grandcentralpub for the gifted copy in exchange for an honest review.

Was this review helpful?

This was one twisty and turny unpredictable story and I was pulled in at full force. Wow! There were plots within plots and unexpected devious throughout. I am always on the lookout for a good unpredictable read and this one was recommended to me on my Bookstagram. I am so glad I requested and got approved. This will be brief because I'm not sure how to not spoil this and it really needs to be read blind, if possible. The story follows Florence Darrow, who works in publishing and is struggling to make a name for herself as a writer. After she becomes embroiled in a scandal at work, Florence gets a fabulous job offer from the reclusive and unknown author, Maud Dixon. The old adage, too good to be true comes to mind as this intricate plot unfolds. Helen Wilcox, wrote a giant bestseller under the name Maud Dixon. They go to Morocco on a research trip, but get into an accident, and Helen disappears, leaving behind her passport and ID. Could Florence simply become Maud Dixon? The answer is... complicated. Although the start is slow, once this book takes off, it moves like a rocket.Who is the villain? Who is the victim? What is justifiable revenge? I’m still thinking about this. I was totally riveted by this story, and the prose is both compact and arresting. I highly recommend this to readers who want a well written and utterly engaging novel.

Was this review helpful?

Who is Maud Dixon by Alexandra Andrews is a novel about Florence, a woman working in the publishing industry, who finds herself working for her favorite author Maud Dixon after she is fired from her previous job. Florence loves her new job and discovers she is one of two people who knows the true identity of "Maud". However when they travel to Madagascar to Maud can write her book, Florence wakes up in a hospital room and Maud is gone. With no one else to tell, Florence assumes Maud's identity so she can write a novel. Unfortunately Florence didn't realize just how many secrets Maud had... This book was such a fun ride! The writing was witty and playful, drawing the reader in from the beginning. The story started off a bit slower but the pacing of the second half was fast and gripping. I loved the character development of Florence and Maud who were complicated, yet entertaining characters. There are so many twists in this book that make you want to figure out what happened to the characters. I also loved the sense of place in the book! Overall this was a delightful read and I highly recommend it for readers wanting a side of mystery with some fun! Many thanks to the publisher Little, Brown and Company and Netgalley for the ARC in return for an honest review.

Was this review helpful?

“People think they want the truth but they’re always disappointed. It is invariably less interesting than the mystery.” WHO IS MAUD DIXON? is twisty novel about Florence, a young girl who’s trying to make a name for herself in the publishing world when she lands a job with a bestselling novelist. her dream job quickly goes sideways when she finds herself in the middle of a criminal investigation halfway around the world. I enjoyed the first half of this book, but it was the second half that I couldn’t put down! it’s a very entertaining and surprising story that examines power and identity and the lengths people will go to get what they want. I shared my review on Instagram and Goodreads during publishing week with my audience of over 1,200 followers. I think this is going to be a hit and it would also make a fun TV series or movie!

Was this review helpful?

Maud Dixon, for starters, is not real. Maud Dixon is simply a name - a pseudonym for one of America’s most celebrated writers. No one, except for “Maud’s” literary agent, knows the true person behind the pseudonym. At the same time, we have our protagonist, Florence Darrow. In the beginning of the book I found myself very annoyed with Florence and, in turn, the author, because I thought the author was endorsing the super creepy things Florence was saying. I soon realized, however, that Florence was never meant to be likable, and in fact I had fallen into one of he many witty traps of the book. Namely, don’t we always sort of conflate writers with the characters they create? And doesn’t a really good book feel like something that actually happened? I don’t want to give away even the early twists of this book, because they are all so fun and fantastic, but Florence and “Maud’s” lives collide in several most unusual ways. The book covers a variety of intriguing topics, but most centrally it is about writers of fiction. It addresses the question of whether a great work of fiction is based on the experiences of author herself, or is it possible that a fiction author is just someone who loves stepping into a complete stranger’s shoes? Maybe, as Maud Dixon — sorry, Alexandra Andrews — explains in his book, it’s a little of both. And so you should definitely launch into his delicious mystery, which is sort of The Talented Mr. Ripley meets Virginia Woolfe...but with a completely fresh twist. The tone is wonderful and I laughed out loud many times at its cleverness. It’s not totally hard to see where the author is going with the plot, but it’s pretty delightful getting there. And also, you will have to get there through Morocco. Many thanks to Little, Brown, the author, and NetGalley for the ARC of this standout book, which I am sure will be on my Top Ten Best list of 2021. I absolutely loved the tone, the creativity, and the central questions posed by this book. I also loved the central mystery and the study of at LEAST one complete psychopath. if you want spoilers on the actual plot, Google is available, but I went into this book totally blind and I recommend you do too.

Was this review helpful?

“Who is Maud Dixon?” is a fun, twisty mystery that publishing industry folks (and avid readers) are sure to love. It opens with 26-year-old Florence Darrow who gets fired from her entry-level publishing job. Her next gig requires moving “to the sticks” outside of New York City. And she becomes an assistant to the beloved author, Helen Wilcox. Helen’s books, published under the pen name “Maud Dixon," are all the rage. In Florence’s new role, she hopes to learn everything she can from Helen. After all, Florence wants to a famous writer, too. She wants the life Helen has. Soon enough, everything is going splendidly. Florence is typing up Helen’s next manuscript. She’s paying all Helen’s bills. And she’s one of only two people who know the true identity of Maud Dixon. Then something wild happens between Helen and Florence on their research trip abroad. It’s as if the book’s author, Alexandra Andrews, pulls from the pages of “Gone Girl.” The next thing we know, Florence gets her big break to live the life she’s always wanted. But how long will it last? This debut novel is the perfect escape. And the perfect summer read, despite its publishing date of March 2. I very much enjoyed the plot twists and the dialogue between the two characters. Of the two women, Helen is my favorite. She’s got a prickly, no-holds-barred attitude and she seems wise beyond her age (yet she’s only 32). Helen is quirky, totally country and mysterious. And, as we soon discover, a wee bit off-the-rails crazy. I’m voluntarily leaving this review after receiving a free advanced e-book by Little, Brown and Company via NetGalley. I also listened to the audiobook, narrated by the very talented actor Therese Plummer. Plummer completely shines with her take on Helen. The southern accent is spot on. I can easily see this book becoming a movie. And from what I hear, Universal Pictures snatched up the optioning film rights. WOW!

Was this review helpful?

I couldn't believe this was a debut! It was very well written and had all the things I ask for in a good thriller. The characters were well developed without going too over board to give anything away. There was a lot of suspense built and the ending was very shocking. I loved every minute of this book and hope to read more by this author!

Was this review helpful?

I studied abroad in Morocco, so I was thrilled to return there in Who is Maud Dixon? The first half of this book did not read like a thriller to me at all. However, it took a turn towards that and I enjoyed both the first and second half immensely, despite how different they are. The entire thing is a page turner and the ending had me with my mouth hanging wide open. Incredible work!

Was this review helpful?

WHEW-EEE, this thriller set in the world of books and writing was so much fun! I had no idea what I was getting into with this story, and the plot kept me guessing from beginning to end. This cat-and-mouse plot with unlikeable characters at every turn was hugely compelling. I couldn't wait to find out what would happen next—and I never once guessed what that would be!

Was this review helpful?

4.5 stars. Who Is Maud Dixon? by Alexandra Andrews is a cunning mystery that has plenty of unexpected twists. Life has not worked out how Florence Darrow believed it would. An aspiring author, she instead works as an assistant editor. Having achieved her dream of living in New York, Florence realizes how far away she is from her goals. After making a decision that does not go as planned, she is now unemployed. And yet Florence feels incredibly free. With an uncertain future, luck intervenes and Florence is offered a position working as live-in assistant to the wildly popular yet publicity shy author Maud Dixon which is a pseudonym for Helen Wilcox.  Florence gladly relocates to Helen’s remote home near the Catskills.  Eager to begin working, she is soon transcribing her boss’s manuscript while taking over all the pesky details of Helen’s every day life. With everything finally going her way, Florence and Helen are soon off on a research trip in Morocco. But within days of their arrival, Florence makes a split-second decision that she might soon regret. Florence grew up with a single mother who convinced her she would do great things with her life. After college, she continues writing but envisions a future far away from Florida. Accepting the first job she is offered, Florence moves to New York and begins her new career.  Quickly disillusioned and feeling out of place, she remains stagnant until she makes the ill-fated decision that alters her trajectory. Working for Helen is interesting and Florence enjoys living in the country. Although she likes her new boss, Helen is a bit mercurial and sometimes abrupt with Florence. Helen dispenses advice that is on the harsher end of the spectrum. It is not until their trip to Morocco that Florence begins to question how well she knows Helen. And after things take a very unanticipated turn, Florence decides to take the opportunity to step into the life she believes deserves. But what will happen once the local policeman continues asking questions Florence does not want to answer? Who Is Maud Dixon? Is a wickedly clever mystery with a delightfully unique storyline. Neither Florence nor Helen is particularly likeable. However, it becomes impossible not to root for Florence once everything begins to spin out of her control. With canny twists and sly turns, Alexandra Andrews brings this riveting debut to a rather satisfying conclusion. I absolutely loved and highly recommend this brilliant mystery to fans of the genre.

Was this review helpful?

The tension exists right from the start in this debut novel This tried and true genre of assuming another's identity comes through in a twist that differentiates itself from those others. Andrews was especially deft at making sure the plot just kept getting juicier and juicier. | Looking forward to her next book!

Was this review helpful?

Hooray Alexandra Andrews! What a fast paced, twisty, fun novel you've given us with Who is Maud Dixon! Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

A “literary” thriller in more ways than one! The twists just keep on coming and just when you think you can predict the end...another curveball comes out of left field!

Was this review helpful?

What a blast! Who Is Maud Dixon? Is 100% entertaining! This book will take you from high rises in New York to scorching streets of Morocco. Florence Darrow’s world in the publishing world has hit a wall and going nowhere. The only thing driving her is the hope that one day she will become a published author, but even her own bosses are unimpressed with her work. She starts an inappropriate relationship with her bosses’ boss, and has now stream rolled into an obsessed with his family. She’s not even aware of her consequences, not even after a restraining order is filed against her. And now it’s time to move on. She becomes an assistant for a notoriously private author, Maud Dixon – a pen name for an author who wrote a breakout thriller, Mississippi Foxtrot. Only two people know Maud Dixon’s real identity, her agent and now Florence. Florence’s days are filled by tackling all of Maud’s emails, correspondence, and errands; dodging Maud’s agent and publishers – who have been hounding her for the follow up to her bestseller. But it’s when the author abruptly announces a trip to Morocco that things really start to get crazy. A drink with supper, that’s all it was. Next thing, Florence finds herself in the hospital, the famous author is missing and presumed dead. It takes Florence no time at all to fill her shoes…if only it was that easy. Twisty, obsessive, a little predictable a times, but still completely amazing and shocking. Who Is Maud Lewis? will keep you reading into the wee hours of the morning because it’s SO GOOD! A big thanks to NetGalley and Little, Brown and Company for this advanced copy. Truly incredible.

Was this review helpful?

Chilling page turner picked it up to read a few pages& wound up reading late into the night.So many twists and turns kept me guessing highly recommend..#netgalley #littlebrownbooks

Was this review helpful?

This was such a great novel! I spent all day today ignoring everything to read this! Florence desperately wants to be a writer but is stuck in a dead-end position as an editor's assistant. But after an attempted blackmail attempt and she is fired, she receives great news: she is going to be the enigmatic Maud Dixon's assistant. She's ecstatic until she meets "Maud" and sees so many eccentricities, but she loves being off the grid and the thought of traveling to Morocco for a research trip is invigorating! Everything changes there; great surprises, twists and turns make this novel one that will have your head spinning as you attempt to figure it out. This is a must-read!

Was this review helpful?

Darn it, never take a trip abroad as it could be your last, "Curtain call." You know back in my day they would call them 'cattle calls' or so they were termed when I was modeling however, in this case it's more like, "New York, Here I come!" with Maud as the main feature on stage and Florence as her side kick. These two are meant for each other and will eventually self destruct as all narcissists eventually do but not before leaving a trail of destruction. My word, jobs in the publishing biz are hard to come by and you would think murder would be a pre-requisite to getting hired. Now, did someone just mention a compost pile in the backyard? A plane trip to Morocco? And a dead body by way of Nick? Oh, for the love ....these aliases are driving me bonkers but I get it, it's all fun and games till someone gets hurt. Speaking of which where is Maud aka Helen aka Jeanette Byrd (Jenny) or whatever other names she goes by these days? Wasn't Florence hired to help her for her completion of this novel by conducting research? The words are jumping off the page but what was that about a car accident and a cliff? Wasn't Helen Wilcox the victim of a car crash a week ago? My head is spinning overtime with this one in an effort to keep it straight... so word to the wise -show up prepared and be ready to answer questions as these poor police officers have their work cut out for them. This is wild, woolly, and hairy all the same. Keep the journal handy and enjoy! Thank you to Alexandra Andrews, the pub, NetGalley, and Amazon Kindle for this ARC in exchange for this honest review.

Was this review helpful?

What a fun debut that took me by surprise after a sort of slow start that built to a wild climax and a fitting conclusion. Florence Darrow, an editorial assistant at Forrester Books, isn't living the life she imagined. She'd always thought of herself as eventually becoming a famous author, but her job in New York hasn't opened up the opportunities she'd expected. When she makes a series of stupid decisions that result in her termination at Forrester Books, she's thrilled when offered a position with the famous Maud Dixon. Maud Dixon is a pseudonym for the author of the bestseller, MISSISSIPPI FOXTROT, and Florence is hired to be her assistant as she writes her second book. Florence, under a strict confidentiality agreement, travels to meet Helen Wilcox and take up the position at Helen's secluded home in Cairo in upstate New York. The only other person who knows Maud Dixon's real identity is her editor, Greta Frost, and Florence will be taking over the correspondence with her and helping Helen with research. The two women get along well and Florence sees Helen as a mentor and guide, hoping that she will be inspired and actually start work on her own novel. Helen soon proposes a trip to Morocco for research and Florence is excited as she experiences the novelty of foreign travel. But then, suddenly, everything comes to an end when Florence wakes up in a Semat hopsital after an apparent car crash. Somehow the police think she is Helen Wilcox and no one has said anything about another victim. Is Helen dead? And, if so, is it possible that Florence could step up and take over the Maud Dixon name? NO SPOILERS. The first half of the book is full of details setting the stage and to introduce the reader to the character of Florence Darrow. At 26-years-old, she is naive and directionless even while thinking she's got this tremendous potential despite having an unremarkable life trajectory to this point. Things pick up when Florence travels to Cairo, meets Helen, and starts to get to know the woman behind the famous name. Morocco is where the main action occurs and I enjoyed the descriptions of the country and this is when the pace of the narrative picks up making the book impossible to put down as the twists and turns keep coming. Although I never really felt an affinity for either Florence or Helen, I had to applaud the ending. Once I figured out what was really going on, I couldn't help but admire the deft plotting and the excellent storytelling skill. I look forward to reading other reviews of this title as I enjoyed it very much. Thank you to NetGalley and Little, Brown and Company for this e-book ARC to read, review, and recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Who Is Maud Dixon? by Alexandra Andrews was one heckuva twisty thrilling ride. Florence aspires to be an author, but hasn't found her big break just yet. Then, an amazing opportunity comes her way. Florence has the chance to be the assistant to the mysterious Maud Dixon. Maud's work is well-known, but no one knows who she actually is. Helen (aka Maud) and Florence are on a book research trip when tragedy happens. Florence wakes up in hospital alone. It appears Helen has been killed, and Florence now has the opportunity of a lifetime. Given the secrecy of Maud Dixon, Florence could finally be the author she has dreamed of being. However, this decision is not as easy as it seems, and there are some big challenges ahead as Florence takes on the charade. This was a clever premise, and another thriller that kept me turning those pages because I needed to know how it all ended up for Florence/Maud. Thanks to NetGalley for the early look at this recent release!

Was this review helpful?

Apparently "imposters" is one of my favorite plot themes so when "Who is Maud Dixon?" was compared to Highsmith's "The Talented Mr. Ripley," it went right to the top of my huge TBR pile. Alexandra Andrew's first novel is guaranteed to be a best-seller. FIRST LINE: "Madame Weel-cock?" Her left eyelid wrenched open, and warm yellow light flooded into the crack. Her vision was crossed by a blurred figure in white. She shut her eye." THE STORY: Maud Dixon, the anonymous best-selling author of "Mississippi Foxtrot" needs a new assistant. She chooses Florence Darrow, a young woman who escaped to New York to make something of herself but has been stuck in a low level publishing job. One of the perks of the job is the chance to travel to Morocco to research a new book. WHAT I THOUGHT: I haven't devoured a book in a long time. When I finished this one, I felt like I had just gotten off a roller coaster ride. The first half is like an anxiety inducing slow climb to the top and then a free fall followed by unexpected twists and turns first right and then left all the way to the ending. None of the characters are particularly likeable, but they are unpredictable and interesting. The writing is crisp and clever. Descriptions give the reader a real feel for locations. BOTTOM LINE: Don't read the reviews. It will spoil the fun. Just get a copy and read it. You will not be disappointed. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. DISCLAIMER: A copy of was provided to me by Little Brown and Company/Net Galley for an honest review.

Was this review helpful?

What a twisty story! Florence Darrow grew up in a small town in Florida with a single mom who has always wanted her daughter to be a success, always told her she deserves to be--but is the first to express her disappointment when she feels her daughter is not living up to that expectation, pointing out classmates of Florence's who are already making 'big money' or have married well. Wanting to pursue her own dream, Florence takes a job as an executive assistant at a publishing house in NYC. She wants to be a writer herself and has a few short stories she is hoping to bring to an editor's attention. The big buzz currently in the publishing world is Maud Dixon, the pen name of an author who has written a blockbuster but refuses all publicity. Florence yearns for a similar success and is eaten up with jealousy when it is announced that Amanda, a fellow employee, is having her work published. It pushes Florence to take a risky move which gets her fired. Imagine her surprise then when she is offered the opportunity to work for Maud Dixon as her assistant! OMG! She will have to sign NDAs and be willing to live out in the sticks but hey, Florence is thrilled to have the opportunity to work with a famous author! Maybe THIS is finally her path to success. The writer, Helen Wilcox, is temperamental and moody but Florence admires her sophistication and style and tries her best to imitate it. Her job entails answering emails and trying to transcribe Helen's messy handwritten manuscript. So far, so boring. But then one day Helen announces they'll be traveling to Morocco for research. Wow, Florence has never even been out of the country before--just think of all the experiences, sights and sounds she'll be able to draw from for her own writing! All goes well until the night of a dinner at a restaurant up in the hillside that includes lots of wine. After that, Florence will have to make some moral choices...and she's already shown that's she's willing to do just about anything to have the life she's always been told she deserves... At first I was thinking: man, she needs to sit down and plan this out if it's going to work! But there's so much more to this story, so strap on your seatbelt for a wild ride. I really enjoyed all the surprises this author has in store for her readers. I received an arc from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. Many thanks for the opportunity--I hope to read much more from this author.

Was this review helpful?

A fun and unique mystery that kept me guessing all the way through. Good characters, nice pace and fun writing style.

Was this review helpful?

This will be a great summer read. Fast paced. Lots of twists and turns (although I’m sensing a theme among this years books of people taking on other people’s identities. Add a reclusive author, a wanna be author, so,e international travel in an out of the way place, some expats who have no ties and you’ve got Who is Maud Dixon. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

For more reviews and bookish posts visit: https://www.ManOfLaBook.com Who Is Maud Dixon? by Alexandra Andrews is a novel following a small-town girl who got the chance to intern for one of the most famous authors in the world. Ms. Andrews is a journalist and a novelist; this is her debut novel. Florence is from a Gainesville, Florida who is struggling to make it in New York City. Florence works in publishing, in a dead-end job where she slowly realizes that she might not have the talent to be published. Finding herself without a job, Florence gets the chance of a lifetime, to intern for Maud Dixon. Ms. Dixon wrote a novel which seem to speak to a generation, but she is reclusive. Florence wakes up in a hospital in Morocco after a terrible car accident, her boss is dead and her papers are gone. I really enjoyed this novel. I’m always interested in books about books, and while Who Is Maud Dixon? by Alexandra Andrews is not necessarily about books, it does take place behind the scenes in the publishing industry. The narrative flows, immersive, and makes you want to continue reading more and more. While the first half builds up the story, the pace really picks up in the second half where twists and turns are galore. The two main characters are interesting, but Florence is the one that grows during the story. She also, along the line, realizes that she is her only advocate in both her professional and business life. Something many people never realize. While the novel is quirky and fun, there is always a dark cloud on the horizon. I always felt like something is about to blow out, things are going “too good” and they’re bound to explode. Ms. Andrews, however, blew things up in a sure way, building the deconstructing the story piece by piece. For what it is, this novel is a gem. I had a hard time believing that Florence met a long-lost friend on a beach in Morocco, but I’ve traveled. I’ve met people I knew in a small town on the southern tip of South America, so while I didn’t exactly like the idea – I do know it’s not as outrageous as it sounds. I did enjoy the ladies’ travels in Morocco, in small towns and villages. I don’t know if the author has been there, but the sights and sounds seem plausible and believable.

Was this review helpful?

This was a fun and fast-paced novel. I thought I could guess what was going on, but there were some lovely twists that I didn't anticipate.

Was this review helpful?

Readers who liked this book also liked: