In 1971 Ecco was spun off from the literary magazine Antaeus (founded in Tangier by Daniel Halpern with Paul Bowles), and it has been an imprint at HarperCollins since 1999. Ecco publishes distinguished fiction and nonfiction by bestselling, prize-winning authors, as well as bold debuts from promising new voices. Among the categories Ecco publishes are novels, short stories, poetry, memoir, science, politics, history, and sociology, as well as lavish contemporary cookbooks. Authors include: Russell Banks, April Bloomfield, Anthony Bourdain, Charles Bukowski, Leonard Cohen, Richard Dawkins, Richard Ford, Jennifer Haigh, Robert Hass, Dennis Lehane, Werner Herzog, Czeslaw Milosz, Joyce Carol Oates, Lisa Randall, Ron Rash, Simon Schama, Patti Smith, Cynthia d’Aprix Sweeney, and Amy Tan.
  • View Approval Preferences
  • Listing titles since 2020

Recently Added Titles (15 Total)