Cover Image: Crooked Lane Books Fall 2022 Sampler

Crooked Lane Books Fall 2022 Sampler

Pub Date:   |   Archive Date:

Member Reviews

This was a bad choice on my part because I don’t like cozies with cooking and currently I’m not into thrillers either. So, my fault but I did not like any of these.
Was this review helpful?
I love this style of preview. Instead of a flap copy summary, you actually get chapters of each book. I’m not much of a cozy mystery fan, but Calypso, Corpses, and Cooking looks like fun!
Was this review helpful?
I love samplers like this. The fact is, without them, there are plenty of books that I would never hear about. Of course, my TBR has increased as a result of reading this sampler.
Was this review helpful?
After reading this sampler, each of these books ended up on my tbr list, which really didn't need to get any longer if I'm being honest.
Was this review helpful?
thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for this advanced reader's copy in exchange for my honest review.

another great sampler full of great upcoming books.  My TBR pile is growing and growing as we speak

I just reviewed Crooked Lane Books Fall 2022 Sampler by Crooked Lane Books. #CrookedLaneBooksFall2022Sampler #NetGalley
Was this review helpful?
I did it again. I alway get this then pretty much add all the book in it to my TBR list. Idk why I keep doing this to myself. But. Here we are. I have a few more to get too.
Was this review helpful?
This was such a helpful item. I am a big Crooked Lane fan, and was very happy to get access to the sampler. It led me to the second book in a series I'm hugely enjoying, Raquel Reyes' Caribbean cooking series. I'm also intrigued by a number of other titles in the sampler, so will be digging into those as well. Being able to use the sampler like a charcuterie platter, and try a little bit of things I might not normally read is really helpful to me as a teacher-librarian. Thanks to @netgalley and #CrookedLaneBooks for access to the sampler.
Was this review helpful?
Thank you to Crooked Lane Books and NetGalley for this sampler! This was a great taste of upcoming books that I probably wouldn't have heard of otherwise. Calypso, Corpses, and Cooking looks like such a fun cozy mystery!
Was this review helpful?
Samples are a great way to try before you buy!

TEEN KILLERS IN LOVE by Lily Sparks
Pub Date: Aug 9, 2022
This is a YA Thriller which I don’t read often.  I didn’t read the entire sample because I couldn’t get into it. But it has impressed quite a few people since it has a high rating on GoodReads.
Will I add it to my TBR list? No


HOUSE OF A THOUSAND LIES Cody Luke Davis
Pub Date: Aug 9, 2022
Book Quote: “America does a poor job tracking and accounting for its unsolved murders. More than 256,000 victims have died in unsolved homicides committed in the United States since 1980. No one knows all the names of these victims because no law enforcement agency in America is assigned to monitor failed homicide investigations by local police departments.”

Diana calls herself “Blackout Santa” because there are times when she drinks too much and does online shopping that she doesn’t remember. This time she spent $13,000 on a cartographer she hired to map out her huge estate in TN. 

Wow, this one has been added to my TBR list! This short sample pulled me in immediately and ended up being my favorite. 


CALYPSO, CORPSES, AND COOKING by Raquel V. Reyes
Pub Date: Nov 8, 2022
This cozy mystery is set around Halloween which is just around the corner.  I’m not adding this one to my TBR list but anyone who enjoys these mysteries might want to.


NEVER NAME THE DEAD by D. M. Rowell
Pub Date: Nov 8, 2022
This debut about the Kiowa tribe sounds like it might be a book I would enjoy. And if my TBR list wasn’t so long, I would add it. But I’ll pass for now.


THE COLLECTOR by Anne Mette Hancock
Pub Date: Nov 8, 2022
This is Book two of a series and I loved the first book…”The Corpse Flower”. This Danish author blew me away with Book one so this was already on my TBR list. Reading this sample confirmed that it’s my kind of book! 


AMERICAN AFTERLIFE Pedro Hoffmeister
Pub Date: Dec 6, 2022
This thriller has an opening chapter that is extremely riveting. A teenager is searching for her mother through the rubble of a monstrous earthquake. She encounters an extremist cult which makes the search more difficult. Now she has the added obstacle of hiding from them while still searching. Yes, this one was added to my TBR list! 


LITTLE RED HOUSE by Liv Anderson
Pub date: Dec 6, 2022
Book quote: “Only one of us will leave this house alive. And it won’t be him.” This is another one with a first chapter that keeps you glued to the pages! A runaway and a serial killer…yep, this one made my TBR list!


WE KNEW ALL ALONG by Mina Hardy
Pub date: Dec 6, 2022
The gorgeous cover grabbed my eye but the short sample wasn’t enough to hook me. I’m passing on this one.

Thank you to Crooked Lane Books and the authors for providing this complimentary ARC through NetGalley. All opinions are my own. 

#booksample #trybeforeyoubuy #upcomingreleases #justataste #thrillers #mysteries #YA #cozymystery #newtomeauthors #crookedlanebooks #netgalley #minahardy #livanderson #pedrohoffmeister #annemettehancock #dmrowell #raquelvreyes #codylukedavis #lilysparks #weknewallalong #littleredhouse #americanafterlife #thecollector #nevernamethedead #calypsocorpsesandcooking #houseofathousandlies #teenkillersinlove
Was this review helpful?
This was my first introduction to Crooked Lane Books. So helpful to get a little sampler from a publisher! Thank you! The titles in the sampler that I'm most intrigued by are Calypso, Corpses and Cooking and also Teen Killers. Maybe it's because I'm a sucker for cats on covers?
Was this review helpful?
This is an interesting way to promote a small number of book titles to a large group of potential buyers. Thanks for  providing a copy. so that I can add new titles to my list.
Was this review helpful?
Thanks Netgalley and Crooked Lane Books for this preview.  There are some really great sneak peeks in this sampler and I'm looking forward to checking them out in the future!  What a great way to learn about books that I can put on my never-ending TBR!
Was this review helpful?
This was a fun sampler of some of Crooked Lane new offerings. I enjoyed the Danish noir and the latest by Mina Hardy -  both are going on my TBR!
Was this review helpful?
Thank you Crooked Lane Books for an early access to sample some great upcoming fall reads! These sounded so good, I'm especially looking forward to HOUSE OF A THOUSAND LIES!
Was this review helpful?
Really enjoyed this preview of some upcoming Crooked Lane Books. It was just enough of a sample to be intriguing. I think I'm most interested in Teen Killers, even though YA isn't my top genre, I'm looking forward to reading the whole book. Thanks to NetGalley and Crooked Lanes Books for the opportunity to preview these samples!
Was this review helpful?
Thanks Netgalley and Crooked Lane Books for this preview.
It is really great way to know about the books releasing this fall. Now I am waiting to read ' House of thousands lies'. It sounds really interesting.
Was this review helpful?
Reading these was so much fun, all of the books are on my radar now. I can't wait to check them out in the future.
Was this review helpful?
A great book featuring some really good books for later on this year. I already have quite a few on my the list!!!.

Many thanks to Netgalley for the free ARC book for an honest review.
#Netgalley, #crookedlanebooks..
Was this review helpful?
Thanks for sharing!  Looking forward to the upcoming books!  I always love a good mystery!  I'd love to see more of the upcoming cozy mysteries.
Was this review helpful?
Thank you NetGalley and Crooked Lanes Books for this sampler! Really liking the idea of samplers even more. It's a great way to introduce upcoming books without the obligation of finishing the whole book if you're not vibing to it.
Was this review helpful?